Patient Record

What is your Online Medical Record

In Patient Access with Detailed Coded Record enabled you will be able to view your:

  • Problems
  • Medications
  • Test results
  • Documents
  • Consultations
  • Immunisations
  • Allergies

This is available to you 24/7.

For more information pleaser read our leaflet below:

VSG Detailed Coded Record Practice Leaflet.pdf

a screenshot of a computer

How to view your medical record

 

If you have medical record enabled, there will be a medical record section on the Patient Access dashboard once you've signed in. To view your medical record, simply select Medical Record from the dashboard to expand the selection, then select the area you would like to view.

You will be able to see your:

  • Problems
  • Medications
  • Test results
  • Documents
  • Consultations
  • Immunisations
  • Allergies

Note: What you see and do on Patient Access is controlled by us. If you'd like to see more of your medical record, speak to reception about this.

 

Viewing options

Filter

Select Filter: Show all in any area of the medical record, other than Problems and Medications, to just display data between particular dates or a particular range. 

Select from:

  • To and From specific dates.
  • This Month.
  • Last Month.
  • This Year.
  • Last Year.

Select Filter: Show all, select the required dates or option, then Apply filter. To remove the filter and show all data, simply click x at the end of the date range displayed.   

Share

Select Sharein any area of the medical record, other than documents, to temporarily share your record with family and friends or healthcare professionals. Documents cannot be shared. 

Note: You can also access the option to share your record by selecting Medical Record on the dashboard to expand the selection, then Share Record

Grid or list view

In any area of the medical record, other than Test Results, you can select from either a grid view(default setting) or a list view. This simply changes the way the data in your medical record is displayed online and can be changed at any time. 

Share your medical record

Sharing medical records using Patient Access is an easy way for you to quickly and securely give temporary access to your medical record. The shared record will be available for 24 hours via a unique link and secured using an access code. You can select the areas of your medical record you would like to share and have the option to stop sharing access at any point.

Benefits of sharing

Patients can temporarily share their record with family and friends or healthcare professionals giving them the opportunity to:

  • Keep family and friends informed.
  • Share medication and allergy histories with a nursing home.
  • Get the most efficient care in an emergency.

How to share your record

If you would like to share your record, follow the steps below. You can also view our video tutorial on how to share your record here.

  1. Sign in to Patient Access.
  2. Select Medical Record on the dashboard to expand the selection.
  3. Select Share Record.
  4. Select the areas of your medical record you wish to share.
  5. Select I accept the terms and conditions, and then select Share.
    You have successfully shared your medical record. 

Note: You can also share your record by selecting the link  in all areas of the medical record except documents. Documents cannot be shared.  

You will be provided with the following information:

  • The share link which you can either copy (then paste into an email) or you can select Email link to generate an email automatically.
  • The access code, which needs to be entered by the recipient of the email (or QR code).
    Note: After the shared record has been viewed for 10 minutes, the code will need to be entered again.  
  • The QR code which can be scanned with a smartphone or tablet. 

Shared record history

You can share the link with as many people as you like, the shared record history shows the date and time it was created, the areas shared, the access code and the number of times a link has been viewed.

Stop sharing

You can stop sharing at any time. You can stop sharing one instance of your shared record by selecting Stop sharing on the individual shared record. If you select Stop sharing all this will stop access to all the shared records you currently have active.

Note: Stop sharing will be replaced with Expired when either the 24 hours has elapsed, or you have chosen to stop sharing the record. 

Export your medical record

Exporting your medical record using Patient Access is an easy way for you to share your record with family and friends or healthcare professionals. You can select the specific areas of your medical record you would like to export, e.g. medications, and export the information into document form.

How to export your record

  1. Sign in to Patient Access.
  2. Select Medical Record on the dashboard to expand the selection.
  3. Select Export Record.
  4. Select the areas of your medical record you wish to export.
  5. Select I accept the terms and conditions.
  6. Select the format required, e.g. PDF.

  7. A warning appears indicating other data that will be exported. 

  8. Select Export.
    The record is exported and will open automatically at the bottom of your screen.